Everything Norwegian and Beyond Vol.1 – The Journey Begins

—–{BEWARE PHOTOSPAM}—–

July 2012

I’ve always had a strange attachment to Scandinavian things. IKEA, Norwegian and Swedish prints and patterns, salmon, northern lights, forests, snowy mountains, reindeers (?). Yea, you might think, such a strange child. But it is not an exaggeration when I say hitting the Scandinavian soil is one of my dreams.

I was always teased by friends saying I’m a full-time traveller rather than a full-time student. Although it may not be something I should be proud of, as I really should stay focused when I study, I’m proud of all the lands i’ve walked on, all the seas i’ve sailed. There is an old Chinese saying that speaks my heart:

Better to walk a ten thousand miles than to read a ten thousand books (讀萬卷書不如行萬里路)

I may not be rich in academic knowledge, but the wealth I gained from seeing the world is priceless and unique. And i’m forever grateful for all those opportunities.

My travel buddy H. is my friend from Uni back in HK. In fact I just joined a few legs of their Grand Europe Tour in June. She’s my fellow avid traveller, trusted friend and loving sister in Christ. Our idea for this was really random. She wanted to stay around for a bit after Grand Europe Tour, opened the map and the first thing that came into her sight was Norway. I always wanted to go to Norway so when she suggested the trip I jumped at the opportunity.

Scandinavian countries are known for their extremely high living standards (hence extremely expensive for travellers). We shopped all the foodstuff we need at Tesco’s and stuffed them all into our backpacks. So thankful for this decision when we later find out that you need to pay around HKD110 for a McDonalds meal.

We toured with Norway In A Nutshell. Our journey starts from Oslo, touring through the Norwegian highlands, stopping at the beautiful town of Flåm for 2 days, then landing at the beautiful coastal city of Bergen.

The Journey Begins…

The non-stop journey from Oslo to Bergen takes around 7 to 8 hours. We were dozing off on the train but suddenly jumped to consciousness when we realized there was a vast stretch of white outside our window. Bare in mind it was July, and though I know some mountain ranges remained snowy all seasons, it still shocked me to infinity and beyond.

Finse – We seized the 5 minute station stop to jump outside. It was so quite, so quite that I think you can hear it if a needle drops. The chilly wind was blowing, and we saw some people hiking up the snowy mountains. The view was spectacular. I was cold but my heart was on fire.

H and I 🙂

Mydral – Getting off to transfer to the Bergen Railway to the Flåm Railway

Note to self: time to lose some weight, really.

Flåm Railway is one of the highlights of this Nutshell tour which you can’t miss. Connecting the mountain stop of Mydral and the town of Flåm, it is one of the steepest railway in the world. It brings us to see the spectacular waterfalls, breathtaking mountain views and glimpse of the majestic Aurlandfjord.

I wonder if heaven looks like this?

Flåm is situated at the bottom of the valley, against the backdrop of the majestic mountains and Aurlandfjord. Sitting against the natural canvas behind, Flåm is one of the hidden Norwegian jewels you must explore.

The weather in July wasn’t that stable, alternates between pouring rain, drizzles or bright sunshine. So a light water-proof jacket is definitel recommended. H and I stayed at a camping site and we found out many families drive with their caravans and camp out there. It was quite an interesting scene to see many couples and families chilling out on the greens with their camp chair and coffee in hand.

Since we arrived in Flåm in the afternoon, we decided to just take it easy for the day and chill out in the area. As typical Hong Kong girls (?), we take tons of pictures of every single spot we visited……

me screaming with heart-shaped eyes: BABIEEEESSSSSS!!!! (and how cute they are, striking a pose for us)

Reminiscing our favourite childhood activities

My inner happy child released.

Blogging always takes longer than I expected, because there’s so much I want to share with you all!

Follow the blog for our further adventures of majestic Fjord hikes, colourful city of Bergen and numerous jump-shots!

Until then,

xoxo

1 comment
  1. hmc said:

    Am reading this the first time morning I got back from Mel and is earning the 3 hours time difference. I look a million years younger in those pics, thanks for the memories J.

Leave a Reply

